Ontario Provincial Apprenticeship Accreditation System

The Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development (Ministry) and its training partners are committed to working together in a spirit of partnership to maintain and expand an apprenticeship system dedicated to developing the highest quality workforce.

The Ontario College of Trades (College) is the regulatory body for trades and apprenticeship governed under the Ontario College of Trades and Apprenticeship Act, 2009.

In Ontario, The sponsor of a registered training agreement is responsible for assessing the prior workplace-based learning of an apprentice related to the Apprenticeship Training Standard or the Schedule of Training for the approved apprenticeship program to determine what effect, if any, this prior workplace training will have on the time the apprentice named in the registered training agreement spends training in the workplace. The sponsor may recognize competencies and/or time gained with other sponsors or with employers both prior to and during the period of time the training agreement is registered.

The sponsor may determine and approve time credits to recognize the prior trade-related learning and experience applicants bring to their apprenticeships. Time credits reduce the length of on-the-job training required in the training agreement.

Ministry staff may recommend hourly credits for formal schooling completed beyond the minimum level required for entry into the trade’s apprenticeship program, including college and university years.

Date modified:

Système provincial sur l’accréditation de l’apprentissage de l’Ontario

Le ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Formation professionnelle et ses partenaires se sont engagés à travailler de concert dans le but de maintenir et d’étendre un système d’apprentissage consacré au développement de la meilleure main-d’œuvre possible.

L’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario, régi par la Loi de 2009 sur l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario et l’apprentissage, est l’organisme qui met en œuvre la réglementation des métiers et de l’apprentissage.

En Ontario, le parrain d’une entente de formation enregistrée se charge d’évaluer l’expérience acquise par un apprenti en milieu de travail en se basant sur les normes de formation par l’apprentissage ou sur le programme de formation du métier en cause. Cet exercice permet de déterminer si cette formation antérieure mènera à une réduction du nombre requis d’heures de formation en cours d’emploi. Le parrain est autorisé à reconnaître les compétences acquises et les heures de travail accumulées chez d’autres employeurs et parrains, ainsi que celles acquises pendant la durée de l’entente.

Le parrain est également autorisé à évaluer et à reconnaître l’expérience et la formation acquises par un apprenti en milieu de travail et à lui accorder des heures-crédit. Ces heures-crédits réduisent le nombre d’heures de formation en cours d’emploi exigé par l’entente de formation.

Le personnel du Ministère peut aussi recommander qu’on accorde des heures-crédits aux demandeurs qui possèdent un niveau d’études scolaires (y compris les études collégiales et universitaires) dépassant le niveau minimal exigé pour l’admission à un programme d’apprentissage dans un métier.

Date de modification :