Newfoundland and Labrador Provincial Apprenticeship Accreditation System

Purpose and Scope

The Provincial Apprenticeship and Certification Board (PACB) is responsible for the accreditation of all the provincial apprenticeship training programs offered by private and public training institutions in Newfoundland and Labrador. Accredited apprenticeship programs ensure the learner, industry, employers and the public that the program meets or exceeds educational and industry standards as identified in the National Occupational Analysis and reflected in the Plans of Training. The purpose of this policy is to ensure that those who have the desire and attributes to become qualified trades persons reach their goals by participating in quality training programs. The accreditation policy provides an auditing mechanism for provincial apprenticeship training programs independent of the education system. It also meets the challenges of technological changes by stimulating ongoing curriculum improvement through the process of continuous review.

1. Policy Statement

Any training institution wishing to offer apprenticeship training in Newfoundland and Labrador has the opportunity to have their apprenticeship programs accredited by the PACB by making application in the format approved by the PACB and by paying the prescribed fees. To maintain the accreditation of their programs, the training institution must submit an Annual Maintenance Report to the PACB. Apprentices who exit from accredited programs will get the full recognition and automatic credit transfer toward their apprenticeship program by the PACB. Apprentices who exit from non-accredited programs will be evaluated through RPL/PLAR on an individual basis before being able to write the journeyperson examination for the occupation.

2. Definition

Apprenticeship Program Accreditation
recognition by the PACB that the program conforms to the national standards established for that occupation and graduates with the requisite experiential hours qualify to write the certification examination.
National Occupational Analysis (NOA)
A national publication that identifies and groups the skills and knowledge required to perform a particular occupation competently. It provides industry stakeholders with benchmarks against which occupations and the proficiency of people in those occupations are measured or assessed.
Plan of Training
A Plan of Apprenticeship Training details the full scope of learning for a particular occupation, including both technical training competencies and industry experiences necessary to write an interprovincial examination and complete the requirements for Red Seal Certification.

3. Limitations of the Policy

The programs considered eligible for accreditation by the Provincial Apprenticeship Certification Board are limited to those apprenticeship programs that lead to Red Seal Certification and any other programs that come under the direction of the Board. The PACB accredits programs for three to five years. It also maintains a provincial registry of accredited programs on an annual basis. The Provincial Apprenticeship Certification Board does not accredit institutions, agencies, departments or faculties.

4. Program Accreditation Procedures

The accreditation procedure shall consist of the following steps:

  1. The training institution begins the process with a request for information from the PACB. The PACB training institutions offering apprenticeship programs of the requirements of accreditation for these programs.
  2. The training institution makes application to the PACB with their Phase I and Phase II submissions and pays the prescribed fees.
  3. The evaluation of an apprenticeship program is based on qualitative and quantitative analysis of data provided by the training institution. The accreditation team reference the data to National Occupational Standards for Red Seal programs and Provincial Standards for apprenticeship programs that are not Red Seal designated through the Provincial Plans of Training.
  4. Before awarding accreditation, a team will conduct an accreditation visit to the training institution.
  5. Before the submission of a final report to the PACB, the Departmental Representative will send a draft accreditation report to the training institution for comment on information included in the report.
  6. A final written report will be submitted to the training institution outlining accreditation status, any areas needing remediation and the time frame in which it is to occur.
  7. The initial accreditation designation is for three years. Subsequent accreditation designation is for five years. During that time, the training institution must report any change in an accredited program to the PACB through the appropriate authorities. Any change that alters the conditions under which accreditation was awarded may require a reassessment.

5. Program Accreditation Process

The Apprenticeship Program Accreditation process addresses the following in ensuring that the instructor, the facilities and the curriculum are of the highest quality and meet standards established and approved by the PACB. The following elements must be addressed in the application for accreditation:

Date modified:

Système provincial sur l’accréditation de l’apprentissage de la Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Objet et portée

Le Conseil provincial sur la formation et l’accréditation (PACB) est l’organisme chargé de l’accréditation de tous les programmes de formation d’apprentissage offerts par les établissements de formation privés et publics en Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Les programmes d’apprentissage agréés montrent à l’apprenti, à l’industrie, aux employeurs et au public que le programme satisfait aux normes éducatives et industrielles telles qu’elles sont identifiées dans l’Analyse nationale des professions et reflétées dans les Plans de formation et qu’il dépasse ces normes. Cette politique a pour objet de faire en sorte que ceux qui possèdent la volonté et les qualités pour devenir des praticiens qualifiés de métiers puissent atteindre leurs buts en participant à des programmes de formation de qualité. La politique sur l’accréditation tient lieu de mécanisme de vérification des programmes de formation d’apprentissage provinciaux qui est distinct du système d’éducation. Elle permet également de relever les défis que présentent les changements technologiques en encourageant une amélioration constante des programmes par le biais d’une révision permanente.

1. Énoncé de politique

Tout établissement de formation désirant offrir une formation d’apprentissage à Terre-Neuve et au Labrador peut faire agréer ses programmes par le PACB en faisant application dans le format approuvé par le PACB et en payant les frais prescrits. Afin de maintenir l’accréditation de leurs programmes, l’établissement d’apprentissage doit soumettre un Rapport de maintenance annuel au PACB. Les apprentis qui terminent des programmes agréés bénéficieront d’une reconnaissance complète et d’un transfert automatique de crédits à leur programme d’apprentissage par le PACB. Les apprentis qui terminent des programmes non agréés seront évalués via la reconnaissance des acquis ou l’évaluation et reconnaissance des acquis sur une base individuelle avant pouvoir écrire l’examen de compagnon pour leur profession.

2. Définition

L’accréditation des programmes d’apprentissage
tient lieu de reconnaissance de la part du PACB que le programme est conforme aux normes nationales établies pour ce métier et que les diplômés possédant le nombre requis d’heures d’expérience peuvent passer l’examen de certification.
Analyse nationale des professions (ANP)
Il s’agit d’un document publié à l’échelle nationale, qui détermine et regroupe les compétences et les connaissances nécessaires pour exercer une profession donnée de manière compétente. Elle fournit aux intervenants de l’industrie des points de repère qui leur permettent de mesurer ou d’évaluer les professions ainsi que les compétences des personnes qui les exercent.
Plan de formation
Un plan de formation en apprentissage présente toute la portée de l’apprentissage lié à une profession donnée, y compris les compétences issues de la formation technique et l’expérience en milieu de travail nécessaires pour se présenter à un examen interprovincial et satisfaire aux exigences pour obtenir la reconnaissance professionnelle dans un métier désigné Sceau rouge.

3. Limites de la politique

Les programmes considérés comme étant admissibles pour l’accréditation par le Conseil d’apprentissage et d’accréditation provincial sont restreints aux programmes d’apprentissage qui donnent lieu à la certification Sceau rouge et à tout autre programme administré par le Conseil. Le PACB donne son accréditation aux programmes pour trois à cinq ans. Il tient également un registre provincial annuel de programmes agréés. Le Conseil d’apprentissage et d’accréditation provincial ne donne pas son accréditation aux institutions, aux organismes aux ministères ou aux facultés.

4. Procédures d’accréditation des programmes

La procédure d’accréditation doit comporter les étapes suivantes :

  1. Pour entamer le processus, l’établissement de formation présente une demande de renseignements au PACB. Le conseil communique avec les établissements de formation qui offrent des programmes d’apprentissage menant à la reconnaissance dans les métiers visés.
  2. L’établissement de formation présente une demande au PACB avec leurs soumissions de Phase I et Phase II et verse les frais exigés.
  3. L’évaluation d’un programme d’apprentissage repose sur une analyse qualitative et quantitative des données fournies par l’établissement de formation. L’équipe d’accréditation compare les données aux normes nationales pour les programmes de formation dans les métiers désignés Sceau rouge et aux normes provinciales pour les programmes d’apprentissage dans les métiers qui ne sont pas désignés Sceau rouge selon les plans de formation provinciaux.
  4. Avant d’accorder une accréditation, une équipe effectue une visite à l’établissement de formation.
  5. Avant de présenter un rapport final au PACB, le représentant ministériel envoie une version provisoire du rapport d’accréditation à l’établissement de formation pour susciter des commentaires sur l’information contenue dans le rapport.
  6. On présente le rapport final à l’établissement de formation pour préciser l’état d’avancement du processus d’accréditation, les domaines où des améliorations doivent être apportées, ainsi que l’échéancier de ces mesures.
  7. L’accréditation est valable pendant trois ans. Toute période d’accréditation subséquente est de cinq ans. Au cours de cette période, l’établissement de formation doit communiquer au PACB tout changement apporté au programme agréé, par l’entremise des autorités compétentes. Tout changement qui modifie les conditions en vertu desquelles l’accréditation a été accordée pourrait exiger une réévaluation.

5. Processus d’accréditation des programmes

Le processus d’accréditation des programmes d’apprentissage doit comporter les éléments énumérés ci-dessous pour que les formateurs, les installations et la formation elle-même soient de la plus haute qualité et conformes aux normes établies et approuvées par le PACB. La demande d’accréditation doit donc contenir ce qui suit :

Date de modification :