Manitoba Provincial/Territorial Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR) System

Apprenticeship Manitoba operates under the Department of Education and Training with authority delegated by provincial legislation. In Manitoba, trades certification is acquired in a designated trade under The Apprenticeship and Certification Act by successfully completing the certification examinations for that trade. Under the Act, a person qualifies for certification in a trade either by completing an apprenticeship program (certification through apprenticeship training) or by showing evidence of extensive practical experience in a trade (certification through trades qualification).

Whether certification is achieved through apprenticeship training or through trade’s qualification, the credentials, skills and work experience gained in other Canadian jurisdictions or outside Canada may be recognized and credited toward the eligibility requirements for certification in Manitoba. Use of Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR) by Apprenticeship Manitoba is intended to eliminate duplication in training and ensure skills recognition by identifying, documenting, assessing and recognizing relevant experience in one of the designated trades.

Apprenticeship

The authority for advanced standing for previous training and experience is provided under section 22(4) of the Act, whereby the Executive Director may grant advanced standing in an apprenticeship program to an apprentice in recognition of the apprentice’s previous training and experience in a designated trade. As per section 18 of the Apprenticeship and Certification – General Regulation, at the time of registering an apprenticeship agreement with the director, the employer and the apprentice may apply jointly to the director to give the apprentice credit for all or a portion of a level in the apprentice’s apprenticeship program.

The client may have their training and credentials assessed and may receive practical and/or technical training credit towards the completion of an apprenticeship training program in Manitoba by submitting the appropriate documentation, along with the apprenticeship agreement. There are three categories that may pertain to the client, including transfer of apprenticeship credit from other Provinces or Territories, credit for practical training or credit for technical training (from an accredited or non-accredited program).

Trades Qualification (TQ)

In accordance with section 22 of the General Regulations, the Executive Director of Apprenticeship Manitoba may issue a Certificate of Qualification through TQ to a person who applies and:

Once the applicant has submitted their TQ application, the Prior Learning Assessment and Credential Recognition (PLA/CR) Coordinator will complete an assessment review of materials submitted to define eligibility to challenge the certification exam. The client will have performed a self assessment utilizing the Work Experience Form (WEF) that will help the client identify gaps in their experience and training based on the occupational standard for that trade. If a client is interested in pursuing certification, the TQ process will be explained, along with the number and types of exams required (i.e. the written Certification Examination and any practical exams, if applicable) and the associated fees.

Date modified:

Système provincial d'évaluation et de reconnaissance des acquis (ÉRDA) du Manitoba

Apprentissage Manitoba relève du ministère de l’Éducation et de la formation et est réglementé par les lois provinciales. Au Manitoba, la Loi sur l’apprentissage et la reconnaissance professionnelle prévoit qu’il faut passer les examens de certification en vue d’obtenir une reconnaissance professionnelle dans un métier désigné. En vertu de la Loi, une personne reçoit un certificat de reconnaissance professionnelle dans un métier uniquement si elle termine avec succès un programme d’apprentissage (certificat émis dans le cadre d’un programme de formation en apprentissage) ou si elle prouve qu’elle détient une expérience pratique considérable dans un métier donné (certificat de reconnaissance professionnelle).

Que la certification soit obtenue dans le cadre d’un programme d’apprentissage ou par reconnaissance professionnelle, il est possible de faire reconnaître et créditer les titres de compétences, les aptitudes et l’expérience de travail acquis dans une autre administration canadienne ou à l’étranger, en fonction des exigences en matière de certification du Manitoba. Le recours à l’évaluation et à la reconnaissance des acquis par Apprentissage Manitoba a pour but d’éliminer la répétition de la formation et d’assurer une reconnaissance des compétences en déterminant, en documentant, en évaluant et en reconnaissant l’expérience pertinente dans un métier désigné donné.

Apprentissage

L’article 22(4) de la Loi confère au directeur général les pouvoirs d’accorder une équivalence à un apprenti en vue de reconnaître sa formation antérieure et son expérience de travail dans un métier désigné donné. Conformément à l’article 18 du Règlement général de la Loi sur l’apprentissage et la qualification professionnelle, au moment de conclure une entente en matière d’apprentissage avec le directeur, l’employeur et l’apprenti peuvent lui présenter une demande conjointe destinée à attribuer à l’apprenti des crédits pour une partie ou la totalité d’un niveau du programme de formation en apprentissage.

En présentant la documentation appropriée ainsi que l’entente en matière d’apprentissage, le client peut faire évaluer sa formation et ses titres de compétences et peut recevoir des crédits pour sa formation pratique et son expérience technique, aux fins de l’achèvement d’un programme de formation en apprentissage au Manitoba. Il existe trois catégories de crédits, à savoir les crédits d’apprentissage transférés entre les provinces et les territoires, les crédits pour la formation pratique et les crédits pour la formation technique (dans le cadre d’un programme accrédité ou non accrédité).

Reconnaissance professionnelle

Conformément à l’article 22 du Règlement général, le directeur général d’Apprentissage Manitoba peut émettre un certificat de reconnaissance professionnelle aux individus qui postulent et qui :

Une fois que le client a présenté sa demande de reconnaissance professionnelle, le coordonnateur de l’évaluation et de la reconnaissance des acquis examinera la documentation soumise afin de déterminer si celui-ci a le droit de se présenter à l’examen de certification. Le client effectuera tout d’abord une auto‑évaluation, au moyen du formulaire de l’expérience de travail, qui l’aidera à cerner ses lacunes sur le plan de l’expérience et de la formation, selon les normes professionnelles du métier donné. Si un client souhaite obtenir une reconnaissance, on lui précisera la procédure à suivre, le nombre et le type d’examens qu’il devra passer (par ex. examen de certification écrit et tout autre examen pratique, le cas échéant), de même que les frais connexes.

Date de modification :