Newfoundland and Labrador Provincial Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR) System

Purpose and Scope

The Newfoundland and Labrador Provincial Apprenticeship and Certification Board (PACB) recognizes that learning which some adults acquire from other forms of formal training and from work and life experiences, may be equivalent to components of apprenticeship training programs offered within the province. This policy is designed to increase access to, and participation in, the prior learning assessment and recognition (PLAR) process, while promoting consistency in PLAR across colleges and programs.

Policy Statement

All individuals, resident and non-resident, seeking certification in a designated occupation (i.e. an occupation approved as a provincial occupation by the PACB for apprenticeship training and/or certification in Newfoundland and Labrador) will have the opportunity to have their prior formal and informal learning assessed. Recognizing prior learning may shorten the time required for an individual to complete an apprenticeship program.

Definitions

Credential Recognition
Recognition of academic or professional qualifications achievedat another training institution, in another jurisdiction or another country.
Credit Transfer
Awarding of credit or advanced standing for formal credits achieved in a training program other than the training program the applicant is currently enrolled in.
Prior Learning
Learning acquired through previous experiences. Sources of learning include any learning experience not associated with institutional study and courses taken at an institution that are not recognized through a credit transfer arrangement/agreement.
Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR)
Evaluation and Recognition of non-formal, informal or experiential learning.
Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)
A process used to evaluate learning acquired through formal andinformal learning experiences for the purpose of assigning academic credit.

Limitations of the Policy

No person will be given credit for journeyperson certification without successfully writing the Provincial/Interprovincial (IP) certification examination, and all block level exams (if applicable).

Guidelines

RPL information and advice will be available from apprenticeship division staff and training institutions.

Date modified:

Système provincial d'évaluation et de reconnaissance des acquis (ÉRDA) du Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

But et champ d’action

La Commission de l’apprentissage et de la reconnaissance professionnelle de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador reconnaît que les compétences et les connaissances acquises par un adulte au cours d’études formelles ou informelles, par d'autres types de formations telles que l’expérience de vie et de travail, pourraient être équivalentes aux composants des programmes d'apprentissage offerts dans la province. Cette politique vise à accroître l'accès et la participation à l'Évaluation et à la reconnaissance des acquis (ERA), tout en favorisant la cohérence de l'ERA dans les collèges et les programmes.

Énoncé de principe

Toute personne, résidente ou non-résidente, souhaitant obtenir une reconnaissance professionnelle dans un métier désigné (par exemple, la formation en apprentissage ou la reconnaissance professionnelle d’un métier spécialisé reconnu par la Commission de l’apprentissage et de la reconnaissance professionnelle de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador), aura la possibilité d'avoir une évaluation et une reconnaissance des acquis. La reconnaissance des acquis peut accélérer l’achèvement d’un programme d'apprentissage.

Définitions

Reconnaissance des titres de compétences
Reconnaissance des qualifications scolaires ou professionnelles acquises dans un autre programme d’études ou de formation, une autre province ou territoire, ou un autre pays.
Transfert de crédit
Remise de crédits ou d’équivalences pour les crédits obtenus dans un programme d’apprentissage formel autre que celui dans lequel le candidat est actuellement inscrit.
Connaissances acquises
Connaissances acquises par les expériences antérieures. Les sources d'apprentissage peuvent inclure toutes les expériences d’apprentissage qui ne sont pas associées à un programme d’étude formel; ainsi que les cours suivis dans un établissement institutionnel, mais qui ne sont pas reconnus pour le transfert de crédits.
Évaluation et reconnaissance des acquis (ERA)
Évaluation et reconnaissance de l’apprentissage formel, informel et pratique.
Reconnaissance des acquis
Processus utilisé pour évaluer les compétences acquises grâce à des expériences d'apprentissage formel et informel, afin d’attribuer des crédits scolaires.

Limites de la politique

Il est impossible d’obtenir un certificat de compagnon sans avoir réussi l’examen de qualification interprovincial ou provincial, et tous les examens d’unité (s’il y a lieu).

Lignes directrices

Les employés de la division de l’apprentissage et les institutions de formation fourniront l’information et les conseils sur la reconnaissance des acquis.

Date de modification :